From the Embers (Born In Flames #3)

Full

 

 

Title:  From the Embers (Born in Flames #3)

Author: Candace Knoebel

Publisher:  48fourteen

Pages: 400 Pages

Genre: Fantasy

Source: Amazon

Rating:  5 Stars

 

Summary:

I am the Progeny. The one deemed to carry this weight. The weight of knowing too much. Of knowing there is a darkness in me. Of knowing that even The Fates can screw things up.

Aurora Megalos knew becoming the Progeny meant great sacrifice, but what she wasn’t prepared for was sacrificing herself. Since the day of her birth, she has been set on a path she couldn’t control; a path conceived by The Fates. After discovering she is mortally connected to her arch enemy, Zordon-a son of a Fate, Aurora is left with a path that seems hopeless.

Until she discovers a revelation in the prophecy.

With war on the horizon, she must find a way to defeat the one who threatens to take everything and everyone she has ever loved from her, without destroying herself. The barrier between both realms is broken, The Fates have been overrun by Zordon, and his darkness now spreads throughout the lands. The odds are stacked against her. Will Aurora and Fenn find a way to undo the work of The Fates in time to save the realms from complete destruction?

Review:

giphy (2)

I wish I could leave it like that BUT instead let me just tell you how wonderful this was… There were NO loose ends. I loved that. There was tragedy. I liked that too. Why?! Well, because when the fate of TWO worlds is happening and there is only ONE person who can save EVERYONE you have to expect some loss. You have to expect to be heart broken at least once and certainly be prepared for it to be someone close to you or the character in this instance. Aurora was EVEN MORE kick ass to me in this one simply because she does sacrifice so much more. She loses family, friends, ally’s, her innocence and at some point her self. She literally goes to war with Zordon and risks everything worth anything to her. I think I liked this book the best. It made me tear up and I sympathized with Aurora, Astral, and Lexi. There were times where I wanted to smack Fenn, Zane, Soothe and Kaede around. In fact I wanted to smack most of the men around Aurora  for babying her. She steps up in a big way in this book. Yes she is still laced with self doubt but who wouldn’t be when faced with her odds. I am glad that the author didn’t forget about Mily when finishing the trilogy. That made it even more awesome to me. The book was balanced emotion wise for me…I spent most of the first half anxious and worried that things wouldn’t work out and then about 3/4 of the way in my anxiety eased and i was able to breathe normally again; I was relieved but saddened and THEN FINALLY the last 1/4 🙂 I was nothing but unicorn farts and and gliterry kittens. 🙂 I was very pleased with how the trilogy ended and so happy my characters got the ending they so deserved.

 

Recommendation:

 Oh Please Oh Please Read This! It was fantastic. Amazing. Wonderful. Spellbinding!

Leave a comment