Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Medusa a love story Links: Amazon, GoodReads
Pages: 296
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Mythology
Stars: 4


Synopsis:

Medusa is ruled by duty, to her Titan father and the Goddess Athena. She’s no room for the tenderness her warrior guard, Ariston, stirs. When Olympus frees her from service, her heart leads her into the arms of the guard she loves… and curses her as the creature with serpent locks.

Ariston goes to war with a full heart… and dreadful foreboding. He learns too late of the danger Medusa faces, alone, and a Persian blade sends him into the Underworld. But death, curses, nor the wrath of the Gods will keep him from returning to her.

Poseidon will use Greece’s war to get what he wants: Medusa. He does not care that she belongs to another. He does not care that she will be damned. He is a God, an Olympian, and she will be his.


Review:

Out-Loud Thoughts:

-Well then….that prologue was certainly attention grabbing
-Talk about petty and vengeful ugh how contrary can gods be?!
-Seriously i would like to murder poseidon right now. Not even going to lie.
-I honestly cannot believe the nerve of Athena!
-Good for you Medusa! Way to stand up for yourself honey!
-Well Damned if you do and damned if you don’t!
-I hope Ariston comes back to life and somehow kicks some Olympian ass!!
-Ariston is pretty bad ass he said he’s going to negotiate…with Hades…hmm?
-Poor Thea 😦
-Ugh give her the effing necklace!
-I cannot believe how much ass backwardness, double standard conniving and hateful manipulation is happening!
-Really Poseidon! All those lives for ONE CHICK!?!
-Sighs. I kind of hate this story right now.
-Hmm Hades…I am..surprised sort of…
-whoa….i think im in love with Hades

Medusa
Poor. Beautiful. Dutiful Medusa. Your only crime was duty and justice. I hate that you were so duty bound that you were abused, used, and then lied to over and over again. I feel like she was my most favorite sad character. She was sad for 95% of this book! She was always cast aside and left in some sort of pain or fashion. Always so unfairly treated.

Athena – this one is selfish and blind. honestly your most faithful servant has a problem and you turn against her. She pleads her trauma to you and you rebuke her, shun her and punish her. Way to go. Glad you’re not in this century standing for feminism! where is your wisdom when handling this situation!!! Smh i am sad that Medusa ever loved and trusted you.

Poseidon – this guy is a dickhead. maybe i never noticed it before because he was never portrayed as such but he’s a total prick. I don’t like him at all. He is a rapist, a philanderer, a bully, and a manipulative twat.

Ariston
Tenacious! I love him! I can’t believe he would torture himself for love but because of it i find him charming and wonderful. He begged audience with Hades. He gave up Elysium and was prepared for Tartarus! FOR HIS WOMAN! He fought for her, searched for her, begged pleaded and tried to beat the shit out of Poseidon for her! I am a little in love with Ariston and proud of him. I hope there are more men out in this world like him

Thea – Pretty kick ass pet owl that was gifted to Medusa from Athena and then taken away again as punishment. Update: sighs…can I have one! Honestly! She was loyal until the very very end!

Elpis – Can you say Bestie?! I mean yea she is a servant but through thick and thin (at least so far 53% of the way) she has been there for Medusa. Update: aww elpis 🙂 I am so happy for you! **Squee**

Euryale Thing 2 – I was pretty iffy about these two sisters but she did stay on the cliffs to search for the girl’s necklace. I don’t think they mean to be horrid to medusa but it is all they know. Update: When she isn’t focused on being mean she is really sweet. AND super faithful to Medusa.

Sthenos Thing 1 – The oldest of them all i suppose. She showed her loyalty and is protective of medusa right after she met her fate with Poseidon. *shrugs* i still think she is out for herself and her only doing daddy’s bidding however I do see the sisterly love between them all. Update: she is like the mommy of the 3 and it surprises me how much she loves her sister.

Galaenus – I suppose he is like her host though Medusa learns to love him like family as she doesn’t exactly have or come from a good family. he is pretty loyal to his goddess though she screwed his fake niece over pretty damn bad. I am unsure what to make of this blustery character but he is a bit charming and was definitely dotting upon Medusa.

Xenia – wilting flower. This one has nerves made of cotton candy though she is quick to tell Medusa to suck it up and take it because thats whats best. I suppose that is the way of it back then. She practically freaks out over everything and that’s annoying. Update: I am happy for her though. Glad she was able to overcome the things life threw at her

Overall:
The ending….i never really Sigh at an ending and want to weep [ it’s different than crying!] but this made me want to weep and smile. God the ending was so worth the trials and tribulations this couple has been through. I can’t honestly tell you how much i rooted for them but felt at a loss. I didn’t think they would ever accomplish the impossible task of being together and honestly i was scared to hope for it. The way that the author wove this made you unsure for a moment on how everything was going to play out. I was certain that i would end up ugly crying out of sheer frustration for these two. The writing was vibrant and the wording was beautiful. I mean i felt like this story sort of wrapped me up like a cool breeze and carried me along. I definitely look forward to the second book in this series.

