Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A_Dance_With_Dragons_US Links: Amazon, GoodReads
Pages: 1045
Genre: Fantasy
Stars: 2


Synopsis:

In the aftermath of a colossal battle, the future of the Seven Kingdoms hangs in the balance—beset by newly emerging threats from every direction. In the east, Daenerys Targaryen, the last scion of House Targaryen, rules with her three dragons as queen of a city built on dust and death. But Daenerys has thousands of enemies, and many have set out to find her. As they gather, one young man embarks upon his own quest for the queen, with an entirely different goal in mind.

Fleeing from Westeros with a price on his head, Tyrion Lannister, too, is making his way to Daenerys. But his newest allies in this quest are not the rag-tag band they seem, and at their heart lies one who could undo Daenerys’s claim to Westeros forever.

Meanwhile, to the north lies the mammoth Wall of ice and stone—a structure only as strong as those guarding it. There, Jon Snow, 998th Lord Commander of the Night’s Watch, will face his greatest challenge. For he has powerful foes not only within the Watch but also beyond, in the land of the creatures of ice.

From all corners, bitter conflicts reignite, intimate betrayals are perpetrated, and a grand cast of outlaws and priests, soldiers and skinchangers, nobles and slaves, will face seemingly insurmountable obstacles. Some will fail, others will grow in the strength of darkness. But in a time of rising restlessness, the tides of destiny and politics will lead inevitably to the greatest dance of all.

 


Review:

Ok…I will try not to make this as long as the book was – the key word is try here ok? So! i didn’t love this at all – i didn’t even really like it…but i didn’t hate it…it was kind of like reading the directions to your brand new computer! I wanted to just dive into season 5 but the reader in me was like NO! READ IT FIRST! so i have no idea how it matches up with the show BUT I will say that I don’t know if i can handle another book so long as this one. It was very informative and it obviously filled in the gaps from the last book (as it was supposed to) but it just felt like trying to eat 8 crackers at a time – totally doable but dry and a little torturous!

Anyways I managed to Choke down my 8 crackers and Towards the end I was flipping pages faster and faster hoping! HOPING that it would ALL FINALLY COME TOGETHER! This is the longest story of my life and I will admit that i am the most IMPATIENT reader ever. Sometimes I feel like this is just dragging out and it makes me want to throw my kindle (I never have!) In short I was disappointed. Like who the hell is Jon Snow’s mom? and When the hell do we get to see Arya come back to Westeros? WHERE IS SANSA?! Wait isn’t there a wild baby brother? where the hell is he? Is Jon DEAD?! or is he a wight?! Maaaan! I don’t know how people think Winterfell is really dead? I can’t wait until we see the grand reveal in the story….getting to that grand reveal though may very well be the death of me.

The most surprising thing in this book? For me? was Varys. He has a nifty part where I am all but left with my mouth hanging open. Seriously the last 3 pages were the most surprising to me. I mean i rolled my eyes at Dany of course because i just don’t really get her and at Jorah because come on man. I am proud of Selmy and Tyrion because it’s Tyrion. I was sad for Quentyn but more sad for Cersei and he infite washings. Now give me the last damn book so i can just move on with life. I hate loose ends and this installment left PLENTY. Sighs. I guess I’ll sit and unhappily wait this out with the rest of the fandom….

