Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

graceling

Link: Audible
Written by: Kristin Cashore
Narrated by: David Baker, Chelsea Mixon, Zachary Exton
Length: 12 hrs and 31 mins
Series: Graceling, Book 1
Unabridged Audiobook
Publisher: Full Cast Audio
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Adventure, Young Adult
Stars: 3


Audible Synopsis:
Set in a world where some people are born with a Grace – a unique, sometimes uncanny, gift – this is the story of Katsa, whose Grace, demonstrated at an uncomfortably early age, is for killing. This makes her a perfect tool for her uncle, King Randa. But Katsa chafes at the way she is being used – and even more at the injustices she sees around her. Then she meets Prince Po, who has a Grace to match hers… perhaps.

Featuring FCA favorite Chelsea Mixon as Katsa, and sensational newcomer Zachary Exton as Prince Po, the most fascinating and praised fantasy debut of 2008 now springs to life in a sensational full-cast recording.

Book Synopsis:
Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.

She never expects to become Po’s friend.

She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away…


Review:
So this was my first audio book and in my head it set the bar REALLY high for what i am looking for out of audio books. It was Full Cast which means there is a narrator and a completely different person for every character..

I will confess that sometimes i DO block out the sound of the narrator and had to rewind a few times. I knew that would be an issue from the very very beginning though because i sometimes have the attention span of a fly.

Things I liked about it:
The narrator’s voice was soothing without making me sleepy and while i wouldn’t have put those sorts of voices in my head had i been reading it still worked out well
I was able to work and “read”
I was able to “read” even when i didn’t have the book with me or a free moment to read with my eyes
i found it calming
I didn’t get the sense of a lull or a boring part of the book
I loved that there was a Narrator and a different voice for each character. It was easier to follow along.

What i didn’t like:
I feel like i missed out on some serious imagery.
I have no idea how to spell ANYTHING in this book or even know what the words would look like
I feel like i may have glazed over some vital parts of the story due to inattention
i found it easy to block out the narrator
i did A LOT of rewinding
I couldn’t experience any “feelings”

Overall:
I enjoyed the book or rather what i gathered from the book. I love the concept of a lady assassin and to me it was kind of a mix of throne of glass and game of thrones. you have a vast land separated by many kings and kingdoms and you have cruel kings, selfish kings and good kings. You have this chick who knows nothing about herself and a man that seems to know almost everything about her. I loved that the author named their gifts Graces vs curses. These people weren’t cursed they were just highly gifted by whomever created them and some of them happen to be REALLY bad ass. Like Katsa! Uhm! Hello Feminist! HUGE feminist! The girl eventually chooses her own path helping other girls and boom! I foresee a great and safe future! The author didn’t make this simply about a romance and that i thought was wonderful. She also didn’t make it a perfect happily ever after too and THAT, to me at least, is even more wonderful because life isn’t always perfect.

I would have to give this a 3 because i enjoyed the book but I’m not in love with it.I don’t really feel like i missed anything by not reading it however I am going to choose to believe that i feel this way because it was an audio book. I may revisit this book sometime in the future and see if my opinion has changed any.

