Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pixie and Jake

Publisher: JB Heller (November 10, 2014)
Pages: 86 Pages
Genre: Short Stories, Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Source: Amazon, GoodReads
Rating: 3 Stars

Summary

Vipers Den is a novella series, but it is five individual stories. Each instalment is focused on a different staff member of Vipers Den. Are you ready meet the quirky staff members and eccentric clients that frequent The Den?

Part Two~ Pixie & Jake
Pixie had a horrible upbringing, at the first chance she had, she ran. Leaving behind everything she had ever known, including the boy who owned her heart.
Nearly 12 years later and Pixie has the life she only ever dreamed of. She is independent, self sufficient, and best of all, happy.
All her memories of the past are just that, mere memories.
Until he finds her.
Jake has been wondering the country just living each day as it came. Trying not to look for the love that left him without explanation all those years ago.
And then he see’s her. He needs answers, he needs closure, he needs her.

*This novella is the second part in the Vipers Den Series. Each installment is a story of it’s own, NOT a continuation of the first.
** If you are interested in romantic comedy, love stories, HEA and contemporary romance then this book is right up your alley.

Review

Hmmm So I don’t know where to start with this one. I liked it. I just didn’t LOVE it the way I loved Piper and Kades story. Don’t get me wrong I love Pixie. I love her style and her class. Just the way she holds herself comes off as regal BUT I just felt like she had potential for a MUCH MUCH longer story. I get it I signed on for Novellas and while I was prepared for the short amount of time it would take for me to read this book I found that Pixie became more and more interesting as the story went on. Ash, her bff, also made for a very interesting story and one that I hope the author pursues. I feel like there was so much that was crammed into this short story that I very well could have filled up on a much longer story about these two. Her background, or the little that we get to see, is chock full of horrifying sounding details that could make a great story. As for Jake he didn’t particularly tickle my cookie with his over possessive machoness but im a pretty insensitive asshole (or so my mother says). Overall I did truly like this book I just felt like there were chapters and chapters missing. Content wise? It was a sweet and relaxing read that I could very easily recommend to someone who just needs to read something lighter than their usual.

