Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Title: The Devil’s Masquerade 50536038-368-k190190
Author: Nina Mason
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent
Publishing Platform
Pages: 164 Pages
Genre: Historical Romance,
Source: Amazon
Rating: 2 Stars

 

Out loud Thoughts:

-Please help me make it through this last half. Please.
-Oh this is getting spicy nice!
-Only an hour left. I can do it.
-These two are weird to me I don’t know what it is that make me dislike them.

Characters:

Maggie (rosebud): I like her darker side and the fact that she is an undercover feminist. I say undercover because she knows she can’t be outright feminist and cause a riot or anything like that due to her station and the time period. Mistress Margaret i find to be a delight! she pushes boundaries, stands up for herself, and takes what she wants when she wants it! It is lovely to see and know that in this time especially not all women hate sex and lie there like dead fish. I do find her still really immature and i guess it’s to be expected. I think it has something to do with her “voice” in the novel. I get that she loves her husband and is desperately in love with him but the scenes between them sometimes feel so melodramatic and make me feel like i should go drowned myself in thick sugary syrup. I am glad that she is devoted, faithful and possessive when it comes to her marriage however she just comes off as a simpering chit a lot of a times and i just can’t seem to LOVE her as a character.

Robert:
This guy is a freak. Talk about letting your freak flag fly…i mean he is really out there for this time. I don’t mind his sexual proclivities because he i like reading about the kinkery but i think he is a dolt. Honestly this man comes off as kind of a pansy. He goes about bowing and playing these political games but the second you look at his wife wrong its a national meltdown. I am not saying that him defending, loving his wife, and being hopelessly devoted is wrong; I am saying i just don’t like the way their interactions are written.

Mulgrave:
This guy is a complete douche. I don’t like him and neither does Robert. He is cocky, rude and a pig. I hope he gets run through with a sword. He is a plotting graceless fool who i hope gets what is coming to him. Apparently he is also a huge enemy of Robert

The King
Maggie is surrounded by girly men. As in Men who can’t seem to put their foot down and rule the country or their estate without crying about it. I am all for a man who cries but sheesh! the King needs to get his head out of his ass and realize that the people he cares about the most are the ones not only trying to de throne him but possibly kill him! what a moron.

Mrs. Crosse
Homewrecker. It’s all i could immediately think when i think of the apothecary’s daughter/wife. This chick has been fantasizing about a married man for 5 years…not one word from the man but she has been flicking her bean to him. *sighs* i don’t like her but i appreciate her negotiation skills.

Overall:

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review:

I knew that it was going to be hard for me to really get into the story because i don’t particularly like the way this author writes but I didn’t expect for me to groan in despair when i realized that there would be ANOTHER one after this.

As curious as I am to see how things work out in the end I really don’t think i can read another book in this series. It not a bad book or story at all it just isn’t for me.

I was 65% of the way through the book before i didn’t feel like i was forcing myself to read BUT it took for me to be mostly done with it to get to the point of turning pages. My fiance bribed me to read at some point knowing i had two reviews due at once. This just isn’t my style and isn’t my favorite story so for others they may love this I not so much.

I just felt like the story itself dragged on and there was much more drama and less actual story. I wish it was a bit longer and maybe this way we would get more meaty bits. I felt like if the two main characters weren’t engaging in their brand of sex and and if something ridiculously bad didn’t pop up then the book fell flat. I just wasn’t really into this at all.

