Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Title: Mr. X  21948425

Author: Clarissa Wild

Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Pages: 404 Pages

Genre: Dark Romance, Romantic Suspense

Source: Amazon

Rating: 2 Stars

 

 

Summary:

*Author Note: This is not your average romance story. Some people will kill for love.*
He’s come to kill me.
I’m a user and abuser of my own body. In the darkest hour I sold my soul to the devil and now I must pay the price. With his gun to my head I have no choice but to listen and obey, but I refuse to go down easily. Nothing is stronger than the will to survive. My instincts kicked into full gear the second he stepped into my motel room.
Except when I look at him I see my own heart staring back at me. A history tainted by blood.
I don’t know his name, but I know he wants me. To save myself I’ll sacrifice my sanity. My body. My soul. Something tells me the x-shaped scar that marks his eye is the only escape I have. He is Mr. X; the man who comes to claim my life. Can I save myself before he demands my heart?
WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, strong language, drugs and alcohol, and graphic violence.

Review:

This book…kind of blew my mind and had me shaking my head in disbelief. I am still unsure if it was a blow my mind in a good way or a bad way. i’m confused. See i felt wrong about liking this and where normally i could justify or overcome the wrong feeling it has stuck with me for a little bit. I read the part where this is a dark romance and believe me i LOVE a good dark romance but not really one that circles itself. I just feel like the story could have been a teeny bit shorter or full of more relevant details that didn’t include sex. Either way while i loved the length i was not thrilled that some parts of this book felt like they dragged on and on for NO REASON. Remember this is just my opinion. I think a big part of my disappointment with this plot was also the fact that i had just waited so long to read this book only to be let down in some places by a thin plot that lacked substance or depth. It is hard to explain why i felt let down by the dry parts but i did.

Jay is a stripper, a junkie, and a sometimes half way prostitute who apparently has blocked out a lot of her previous life. Mr . X is her captor and is keeping her alive for his own twisted reason. I don’t particularly agree with the way he keeps her captive simply because while she sometimes likes it and has a right to fear this man she seems forced to like it. I think i am hung up on that part. she wasn’t given a choice to like what happened to her. Granted MUCH later in the story you find out that her coming to like her experience isn’t a learned habit but one that was prevalent in her ‘previous’ life as well. She just seemed forced into her position and to an extent she was. Moving on to what i liked….

Mr X. He seemed more than a little off but i suppose that is to be expected given the way this man grew up and by the fact that he takes perverse pleasure in killing people and getting paid for it. I liked his strength and tenacity. He seems to be perpetually fighting himself and all that makes him soft in anyway. the only thing he has held on to for all his time is Jay. I do not agree for his over motive for revenge simply because by the middle of the book it seemed to be a moot motive. Other than his childish motive i appreciated the small ways he empowered Jay – they were miniscule compared to how he handled her in general so don’t get excited. Jay on the other hand i found to be childish throughout the whole fricking book. I felt like she could have become such a STRONG character and she just didn’t. She wasn’t my favorite. I mean i give her props for attempting to flee but she not only just succumbed to easily but she also got the whole charade confused before she went looking through X’s phone. I mean come on Jay this guy has held you captive AND used you in any way he wanted so why was it SO easy for you to just magically be ok with your situation?

I was super thrown off by the appearance of Jay’s family member and the way things worked themselves out in relation to her past with said family member and her future with said family member. That was the best part of the book for me was this scene that was written out in the open and full of blood and angst. it was also the scene where we didn’t know what was going to happen X. I was intrigued at the very very end because well the author made this a stand alone novel but left the option open for maybe a novella or something. It wasn’t a cliffhanger per se but it kept you interested to know what happens AFTER the book. I am glad i finally got to check this off my list but at the same time probably shouldn’t have hyped myself up over it.

Recommendation:

I don’t know that i would recommend this to anyone :\

