Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

21393566

 

 

 

 

 

Title: A Deadly Bet (Summers Series)(Volume 1)
Author: c
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Pages: 301 Pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Suspense
Source: Amazon
Rating: 3 Stars

Summary:

****CONTENT WARNING**** This book is for mature audiences only due to sexual content, including sexual violence and strong language.

Veronica’s life was right on track. Attending University of Wisconsin – Green Bay and trying to complete her final year, she had amazing friends, was happily in love with her best friend, and was just working to make all of her dreams come true.

One night changed her whole world. What was supposed to be a girl’s celebration for her friends twenty-first birthday, turned into the worst mistake of her life. Veronica makes a deadly bet that destroys everything she loves.

Four years later, Veronica has a life-altering decision to make. Stay for all the loves of her past and hope for the best or plan an escape for the ultimate love of her future. If she breaks her word and leaves, can she keep her loved ones safe? Can she survive if she fails?

Review:

 

hmm I don’t really know where to start with this one. I liked it buuuut not really. I really only started to like it when i was a bit past the half mark point. I just couldn’t get on board with…something… I couldn’t quite get my finger on it while i was reading it. Overall the story was different than many i have read lately. It was a lot more violent in its situations and just sort of messed up. I respect and appreciate the author for that because to come up with a story line like that and still be sane and accepted in society well…props ma’am because I think if it was me thinking this stuff up I would be having nightmares! I enjoyed the length. It wasn’t so long that i got bored with the story [i did get bored with some of the characters but NOT the story!] I mean if you aren’t into suspense, violence and some pretty traumatic feels this book isn’t for you. Im ok with saying that right off the bat. I am afraid to actually discuss the story because i don’t want to give anything away so let’s try this.

Veronica has some issues that started with her mother. She has a safe and secure family in her grandmother and the summers boys. Nothing to weird here right now. She goes off to college and has a wild night that ends with a cheesy bet that goes horribly wrong. She basically ends up ‘running away’ from the life she knew and the man she loved to keep them safe. Sweet. Pretty Simple right?
No!!!! The Summers boys are 3 super hot brothers and she’s in love with Chase the older one of course. They all 3 give me this kind of weird “we’re all in love with Veronica. She is our goddess.” Type of vibe which meh i mean i can get on board with that! It happens when you are close to a group of people.

Lets fast forward to a couple of years later because as i said Veronica ran away from home, family and love for fear of death. Alright then BUT she comes back because everyone has a breaking point and of course the only place to run to that feels safe is Grandma’s house where all these sexy men are at. No worries that a huge explosion occurred at the first location you were running to which in my head screams “DON”T GO SEE GRANDMA!” At this point things start to warm up but still kind of having me rolling my eyes at this chick BUT we get to meet the Summers Boys: Chase, Landon, and Trey.

Landon to me is the PERFECT guy! Sweet, funny, thoughtful and easy to talk to. Chase on the other hand had me jogging on the treadmill because he annoyed me a bit. He is all alpha male and always right . I mean I get it he is angry and has a right to be but at the same time he is so arrogant and doesn’t really give Veronica a chance to even explain before he has condemned her. Trey is just baby brother material! He is adorable and fierce when he needs to be and he is also thorough in his thought process which i also like. Like i said these 3 make me feel some sort of way with how they worship Veronica. Ok I know I haven’t even talked about the story but here we go:

in short the demons she is running from catch up to her and in essence put the rest of the people she loves in pretty serious danger. Joe, we find out, her husband, is pretty obviously fucked up like…He couldn’t even plead insanity because its BEYOND that. smh he gives me the willies! He shows up with a friend set on teaching Veronica a Lesson and tearing her world apart…again. To say this man is awful puts it lightly. While i secretly want to smack Chase everytime he leaks tears or says baby (which i’m sorry he just says it way way too much for me to even want to hear him speak) Joe and his gang are the absolute worst. There is nothing redeemable about them. NOTHING. this is usually pretty difficult for me to say about anything or anyone but it is super easy for me to say about these villains.

I mean it was absolutely heart wrenching the amount of shit he put Veronica through. He gets just desserts though! This story really had me needing a good cry and cuddle at the end. I sort of kept strolling on the treadmill in shock at the end. Just kind of ambling in a daze because it was so much happening so fast and then BOOM!!! EVERYTHING is different.

I Really ReALLY wanted to hear more of Landon’s story in this one because i swear that man was completely irrevocably in love with her and set to prove his older brother wrong or something but hey authors have to be mysterious too i suppose.

I guess it wasn’t so much the story i had issue with but more of the characters sometimes. I don’t know Chase just rubs me wrong and Veronica is mostly whiney (even though she is allowed) and all the other characters were so secretive. I didn’t feel like i KNEW or saw the characters develop as the story progressed.

I felt like the same words were used over and over again but this is something that happens in real life too. I just don’t notice because I’m not looking at my speech pattern on paper. If i just stop pouting for a second I am able to admit that the author did a great job of padding the front end of the story so that by that end there were no questions left unanswered [ EXCEPT FOR LANDON!!]. I tend to be a little more impatient than is needed so it means I get bored. Don’t let this deter you though because once the story gets going it REALLY REALLY gets going.

