Tags

, , , , , , ,

Title: 22529936Ten Below Zero

Author: Whitney Barbetti

Publisher: Whitney Barbetti (August 25, 2014)

Pages: 280  Pages

Genre: New adult, Contemporary Romance

Source: Amazon, GoodReads

Rating:  Stars

 

 

 

Summary:

“In here,” he said, pushing on the skin above my heart, “you’re ten below zero. And you’re closer to death than I am.”

My name is Parker. My body is marked with scars from an attack I don’t remember. I don’t want to remember. I choose to live my life by observation, not through experience. While people are laughing and kissing and connecting, I’m in the corner. Watching them live. I’m indifferent to everything, everyone. The only emotion I feel with any kind of depth is annoyance, and I feel it often.

A text message sent to the wrong number proves to be my undoing.

His name is Everett, but I call him rude. He’s pushy, he’s arrogant, he crowds my personal space, and worst of all: he makes me feel.

He chooses to wear all black, all the time, as if he’s waiting to attend a funeral. Probably because he is.

Everett is dying. And he’s spending his final days living, truly living. In doing so, he’s forcing me to feel, to heal. To come face to face with the demons I suppressed in my memory.

He hurts me, he fulfills me, he completes me. And still, he’s dying.

Review:

I kind of hated that I loved this book. For me the BEST part of this book was the last quarter of it. Why did I hate that I loved it? It was a sad, but a good sad. It starts out kind of slow and builds momentum and you find yourself wondering how these two people with HUGE HUGE sets of issues come together and interact without 1. Murdering each other or 2. Just altogether leaving the other person. These two were wonderfully dark and twisty. Not exactly the bright and shiny normal couple. I liked it.

This wasn’t typical. It was tragic, heart wrenching, sad, and complicated. It wasn’t light and easy. The only thing that kind of got to me were some writing issues, not even sentences problems but more of just some words not making sense in some places – simple typos. That’s it. I whipped through this book pretty quickly and was thrilled with the ending.

I was kind of disappointed that I didn’t get down with my feels and ugly cry. I was looking forward to an emotional book, especially after reading a lot of other reviews. It was sad yes but i didn’t feel the need to cry it out. :\ I really enjoyed how different this story was compared to the typical love story. It was mostly the main characters past experience that made them so different. I loved that the characters actually grew and learned from their experiences. There was some serious character development and that was fantastic to read as well. Over all – minus a few typos – this book for me was fantastic.

Recommendation:

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who asked about it. I don’t know if i would openly give it to someone who is recovering from any sort of attack simply because it may trigger some serious feelings or anyone who has had experience with family members and cancer…I get that these things can be a touchy subject but the author did a great job of writing this story with such taboo subjects.

