Tags

, , , , , , ,

DEVIANT-by-Callie-Hart

 

 

 

Title: Deviant (Blood & Roses Book 1)
Author:  Callie Hart
Publisher:  
Pages: 181 Pages
Genre:
Source: Amazon
Rating: 4 Stars

 

Summary:

*Please be aware that this is a Dark Romance novel and deals with serious themes, including violence and murder*

This story is the first part in a series, each approx. 30-40k words in length.

Sloane

I’m not proud of the things I’ve done.
The things I’ve had to do.
The things I’ve given away.
but I’d give it all over again to find her.

Even if i die trying,
I have to find Alexis.

Zeth

She wants me to help her,
But I won’t.
She wants me to save her sister,
But I can’t.
She wants me to be her hero,
But I’m not a good man.

I am her damnation.

Review:

Where Lucien Knight was a smooth operator and sex god Zeth Mayfair is the devil incarnate ruling over a kingdom of depraved kinky sexiness and it is way hotter than Lucien could be.  Now that I have that out of the way….I want to talk about the thing that made me scowl first…the opening chapter was a bit creepy for me. Dark isn’t even a word for this book to being with. If there was a level past dark that would be where this book is. This books starts out feeling kind of rapey…I hate that I have to use that term but it does. The girl sells herself off to someone she doesn’t know and cant see and I’m not really OK with that. Its certainly different but it just left a inky feeling in the pit of my stomach – like I’ve been tainted or something because there was a little perverse pleasure in it. I fricking LOVE Sloane. LOVE HER! why? because she is a scared little thing sometimes but she is FIERCE!!! She stands up to Zeth whenever she can and goes toe to toe with the man.  He has the power to end her and control her and she STILL stands up to the man. 
 
This was definitely NOT a light read. It was dark, twisted, and intense. There were somethings that after reading i was a bit uneasy about and felt bad about liking. There are some crappy pasts and horrible decisions made. Seriously kinky sex….SERIOUSLY…This brings up taboo topics like: abuse, sex trade, orgies, suicide, and stalking. Zeth is his own genre. 
Now even with all the conflicting emotions i had i seriously loved this book. It made me sit in public and blush. the tips of my ears were red and i had hoped no one was reading over my shoulder. THAT’S HOW HOTT it was. It was so sexy that i needed a cold shower and felt no shame over that. I finished book one and immediately went and bought book 2! 
 
The ONLY bad thing about this besides the sort of  conflicting opening sex scene? I did find some writing errors. I’m not an English genius, i failed it once in high school, but there were just a couple sentences that didn’t make sense and it was either a misspelled word or just a small grammar issue.. i know that would drive some of you bonkers but listen the story was fantastic. 

 

 

Recommendation:

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves smut and is a fan of a darker romance. If you aren’t sure about it just try it anyways since this first book is free!
I loaned this to a friend, who btw was not a fan of smut, and she called me to tell me that I had popped her smut cherry and she LOVED this book! 
 -Kayla
