Tags

, , , , , , ,

stay

 

Title: If I Stay
Author:  Gayle Forman
Publisher: Speak
Pages: 320 Pages
Genre:  Young Adult
Source: Amazon
Rating: 2  Stars

Summary:

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family. Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

Review:

 

I hate writing reviews like this. Believe me I want to LOVE every single thing I read but sometimes that just isn’t possible. Right off the bat my first complaint is this: The story ended at page 234 but the book continues for roughly another 100 pages. I am sorry but that just irks me a bit. I bought a book thinking it was going to be nice and long but it turns out no, by the way we cut it 100 pages short so you could have space to advertise here. Yes, there were excerpts from the authors other books but by the time I hit the last word of the book I didn’t care. Another complaint: I get cliffhangers, I like them! But I felt like this ending was so abrupt I might as well have jumped off a cliff into the roiling ocean. I mean just complete nose dive. The ending made me feel like I was missing a chunk of the book and needed to find it. Good thing I have book two but if I didn’t id be even more upset. Either way the abrupt ending was just like wait whaaaa!

And now for the crux of my problem with this book…The hype was SO SO much that I thought this would make me cry or at least tear up. It didn’t. I was left wanting more. I felt as though the author dealt with death but it was done in such a way that this story would appeal to a tween, not even a teen. I think this book would make a great movie given that the movie makes will make it 10 times more dramatic but frankly this book just fell short for me in many ways. It didn’t live up to the high praise it was given. The story was sad yes BUT it did not FEEL tragic. I wanted to feel my heart-strings being ripped out of me. That is what I was expecting from all the talk about this. With the movie coming out I gave it a shot. It gave me nothing emotionally. :\  I will say that the book did pass quickly. It was easy to read and it wasn’t terrible by any means it was just too simple for me. Too straightforward in a 1+1=2 type of way. I wanted so badly to connect with this book and be transported around Mia’s feelings but I never did and in the end was just exasperated.

I just expected more solemnity, more feeling, but it just lacked passion for me. There is passion even in loss and that wasn’t even felt. I felt a little let down and it’s a little my fault for falling into the hype of it all but if I wasn’t so curious to know how it all works out I wouldn’t even bother reading the second book.

 

Recommendation:

 It had good rhythm and reading flow but it was a bit droll and dry. Read it if you want. I’d certainly borrow it from someone if you can.
