Tags

, , , , , , , ,

MissPeregrines

 

Title:  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Author: Ransom Riggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Pages: 352 Pages
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Source: Amazon
Rating:  3  Stars

Summary:

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. 

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

 

Review:

Let me start by saying my taste in books is like my taste in movies. Love unique stories. Original creativity to make you think, wonder, and surprise you. I tend to stay off the beaten path. Also have to say I am no expert book reviewer or avid reader although I do love to read. So with that tid bit…….. and here we go…

Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children. I get a lot from a title and it definitely caught my attention. Looked it up and read the back. Okay I am game! Let’s see where this takes me. It was a great story with a gasp or two, a little bit of nail biting, a smidge of predictability, and left me wondering what will come in the next books. There was a moment of golden compass and another moment of the x men. Yes I did say x men. The exact thought comes from a statement from a White about the commons and the struggle and ridicule of the peculiar children. It had me hooked till I hit almost mid-way. It felt horridly predictable. This just took the story right out of me.

I confess I put the book down for a while. Still a little wonder flickering. Passed by it sitting on the table. I kept thinking come on, finish it. With a friendly nudge from a friend I picked it back up and finished. I was pleasantly surprised! It did have the predictability I dreaded but not to the extent my mind had created. It picked back up with great steam and finished with great curiosity. In all I really liked it! I even think it would make a good movie ………. if done right!!!!! Its descriptive writing is enough to make the movie run in my head as I read. I absolutely loved the pictures that are scattered throughout the story. In reading a little about the author the pictures are actual pictures he has run across as a photograph collector! The fact the story itself came from his hobby is another thing I found pretty cool. “If I can’t know their real stories, I’ll make them up.” To be honest this actually added to it’s uniqueness and intrigue for me. It’s a good, unique in its own right, story. I would say two thumbs up

 

 

Overall Thoughts:

It wasn’t the best book ever but it was good and original.

 

– Tiffany C.

