Tags

, , , , , , ,

GRS-Cover

 

 

Title: Gorgeous Rotten Scoundrel
Author: Nina G Jones
Pages:  217 pages
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Romance
Source: Amazon book page
Rating: 3  Stars

Summary:

He was a pig, a jerk, selfish, callous, crude, tactless, prone to outbursts and gorgeous. The kind of gorgeous where you didn’t even attempt to hide the fact that you were staring. I knew the type: His entire life he has coasted on his good looks, artificial charm, and sex appeal. Everyone wanted to be him or be ON him. I had been hurt by jerks like him before. He was like those guys but far worse.

I was the unfortunate sucker to be offered a gig I desperately needed as his live-in chef for a Summer in the Hamptons. But I wasn’t like the other girls–the models and socialites who came through the revolving door of his bedroom. I would bite the bullet, take the job, deal with his sexist comments, his expectation that I would fawn over him, and have no problem letting the door hit my ass on the way out when I was done with the gig.

Then something unexpected happened that changed everything and I realized that there may be more to him than the labels I had affixed to his character. Maybe.

But if he really wanted me, it wasn’t going to be easy, not like everything else in his life. He was going to have to work, I was going to make him miserable. He was going to hate wanting me just as much as I hated myself for wanting him back.

Heath Hillabrand: International Supermodel. Womanizer. Gorgeous, Rotten, Scoundrel.

 

Review:

I read this book in about 3 hours. Just laid in bed and clicked through it. I liked the book and I was prepared for a much lighter romance quality than the strapped series but when I first started reading Gorgeous Rotten Scoundrel I put it down and almost didn’t pick it back up. Now I tend to get ADD so don’t think anything of that but I just didn’t feel completely invested in this couple. Yea Heath is hot and Sadie is a babe. The sex is filthy, dirt, hot, and full of wonderful profanity and that was awesome but I just wasn’t completely sold on Heath. Personally I think I am just hung up on Taylor Holden so I may be a bit biased to begin with. I feel like Sadie was just in a perpetual argument with herself about what she wanted. I felt bad for her that she felt such a constant shame for shagging Heath. I LOVED that this was a stand alone novel and not part of a series; sometimes I just want a nice quick uncommitted read. I liked that Heath wasn’t always “perfect” and puts Sadie in a position of power. Some may say this “power” was abused but I think she grabbed the situation by the balls and did with it what she wanted.  There was a lot of back and forth and towards the end Sadie sort of frustrated me but I understood. She was completely relatable since I am sure we’ve all been hurt pretty badly at one time or another. Heath eh he’s pretty and sweet but I just couldn’t see how he would be able to “change” so much in such a short time. I guess understanding that you aren’t immortal helps but still he just seemed too much of a playboy to turn it all around so quickly. And dude whats with characters fighting then just instantly forgiving? :\   I think I am a grudge holder or something because I sometimes just want characters to argue until one grovels for forgiveness….I liked this book. I am happy I read it but if there was a book two I don’t think I would even give it a try.

I really REALLY enjoyed the way the story was written. I was very easy for me to just keep on reading even while i facepalmed my self for some of Sadie’s antics. I genuinely laughed out loud on a lot of the personal musings of the characters which always endears me to a book. I became frustrated with Heath and exasperated with Sadie. It was written so you could feel what the characters were feeling. I really liked that about this book. OH! This was cutesy… that’s the word I’ve been looking for! 🙂 Rom com with heavy sexiness. 🙂

 

Recommendation:

 All in all I liked this book. 🙂 give it a try if you love the author. It was something completely different for her and I like that she did it.  Get it on Amazon for just $3.99.
