Tags

, , , , , ,

embracing-the-flames-cover

Title: Embracing the Flames (the Born in Flames trilogy #2)
Author:  Candace Knoebel
Publisher: 48fourteen
Pages: 412  Pages
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Amazon Book Page,
Rating:  5 Stars

Summary:

The Stone of Immortality has always been kept under the watch of the Draconta. That is, until the betrayal of a Fate. Now, everything is about to change.

Aurora Megalos accepted her destiny without blinking-even if it meant succumbing to her dragon side. Deemed the Progeny, she left the ordinary life she knew and has done everything in her power to learn the ways of her new home and what it means to be part dragon. But when her mentor, Astral, suddenly disappears, she is forced to take the reins with war on the brink. She sets out on an epic journey to find what her arch enemy, Zordon, is after. What she discovers is far worse than she could’ve ever imagined. She will be tested and pushed to the limit. Lives will be lost, love will be found, and most importantly, a battle will begin.

 

Review:

To summarize how i feel:

4a4a9b8465736b527a4fd7005754ac88

Uhm, so this book was uhhhhmaaaaaaZING…I decided that sleep was unimportant to me just so that i could finish this book…since i work two jobs that was almost stupid of me BUT i didn’t care because this was just as wonderful except more kick ass than the first one! Alex is super kick ass and i found there was much more action in this one than the first. I know i held my breath every couple of chapters and rushed to read through it. There was indeed more tragedy and heartbreak in this book but i found that it gave me more to love. Alex Fenn Zane and Lexi continue to break the rules as expected and as usual with some success i might add. Alex meets her mama and grandparents officially. If you ask me, Dragons are a bit stuck up but hey as an ancient royal dragon i probably be that way too. Of course Zordon is raising hell and Soothe plays hard to get. As the title suggest Aurora in my opinion finally embraces that dragon part of her and succeeds in being a whole. The ending of this one…thank goodness for it because it immediately preps me and revs me up for book 3. The only reason i’m not reading book 3 right now is because i started mushing up these first two into one big book. Astral disappearing was the best thing to happen to Aurora being that it forces her to make her own decisions. She even learns what it is to disobey her parents. Eve hates her and Im not sure if you found out book 1 or 2 but you do find out a lot about Eve. That blew my mind. This was certainly a page turner with the amount of action AND information thrown at you. I was forced to think with the group to try and solve the mystery of what the hell Zordon really wants…needless to say i was no good at it and the author bless her heart spelled it out for me in the end which …still shocked me and i loved it. Zordon is a sneaky slimy bastard and i kind of hate him. -_- he’s smart though so i begrudgingly respect him…a little bit. *Sighs* I’m as afraid as Aurora that he will succeed and it sucks. Aurora has gotten a lot better with her magic and went through another round of serious combat training so beware Zordon in book 3. We’re coming for you! Btw…i thought Fenn and Zane were going to kill each other. I’m happy to say that they don’t but you know for the usual mind blowing reasons – read it and find out.

This has been one of my favorite series this year and I am glad I gave the first book a chance to begin with.

 

Recommendation

Uhm Duh! read it now! well…read the first one first and THEN read this one. This one kicked ass and the 3rd I’m sure is going to blow it out of the water.

 

– Kayla

