Tags

, , , ,

The Fault in Our Stars

Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Amazon Book Page 

Stars:  5/5

Review:

The first few pages were hard for me to focus on but once I got about 5 pages in I was completely hooked. It sounds like you’re listening to the typical teenager ranting about how much their life sucks but Hazel is a little different in that she has cancer. This isn’t your usual girl meets boy, girl + boy fall in love and live happily ever after; no the story is more devastating for obvious reasons, cancer still being a taboo subject and all, yet they manage to find a love that went beyond the physical and traditional. I laughed, I sighed, and inevitably I cried through the emotional roller coaster John Green puts you on. You get sucked into the pages and walk the journey with Hazel and Augustus and ponder the questions they ask themselves; you try to put yourself in their shoes for just a moment and find yourself drowning in the realistic and depressing state of mind that Hazel is usually in while smiling and wishing you could be as open and quirky as Augustus should you ever be in a similar situation. The Novel showcases the worst part of living while putting the spotlight on the best parts of handling the situation. I give the book 5 stars for a few reasons: 1. It’s a realistic portrayal of being a teenager with cancer. 2 The author grabs you and MAKES you become emotionally invested in the outcome. 3. It shows that love does prevail no matter the circumstances and outward appearance of a person.

Would I recommend it?

Absolutely. In fact, I encourage you to run out to the nearest store and grab a copy now or buy it for your e-reader.

For those who have gone through the loss of a loved one because of cancer I think it would be a wonderful thing to read if you think you can handle it. I cried through the last 100 pages because I completely understood the feelings that were churned up within  the story.

